Tue. Sep 27th, 2022

Education in Sri Lanka has a history of more than 2300 years. Researchers believe the Sanskrit language was brought to the island due to the establishment of the Buddhism during the rule of King Devanampiya Tissa. Since that period of time, an educational system appeared. Evidence of the system is found in the Chronicle of Lanka.

The first schools were founded during the colonial period, by the British. Some of them were affiliated to the Anglican Church. The system of schools was based on the recommendations of the Colebrooke Commission in 1863 and this is known to be the beginning of modern education in the island.

In 1938 the education in Sri Lanka has become free of charge, and after independence the number of schools and the literacy rate increased significantly. Today, there are over 9,000 public schools serving more than 4,000,000 students throughout the island.

As far as higher education is concerned it has been based upon a number of Pirivenas during the local kingdoms. The origins of modern university system date as far back as 1921 when the Ceylon University College was founded at the former facilities of Royal College Colombo, part of the University of London. Nonetheless, the beginning of modern education was in 1870 with the establishment of the Ceylon Medical School, Colombo Law College, School of Agriculture, etc.

Today, the educational system of Sri Lanka is divided into:

• Primary education;
• Junior secondary education;
• Senior secondary education;
• Collegiate education;
• Tertiary education.

The most important fact regarding the education in Sri Lanka nowadays is that students have the opportunity to obtain CIMA qualification. What is CIMA?

CIMA or the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants is a professional body in the UK providing training and qualification in management accountancy. A CIMA qualification opens a new world for students making them important members of the management team. Operating in over 173 countries, young people from Sri Lanka are lucky to receive first-class education in the field of finance and accounting. Becoming a CIMA member means you are a specialist in management consulting, project management, business analysis, and possess all the necessary skills to become a finance director.














Specializations in Different Streams of Medical Courses

Various courses are offered for specialization in life-sciences. A few of them are given here for you to have an idea:


  • Cardiology – deals with disorders of the heart. He performs specialized work like angioplasty, angiography, and by-pass surgery
  • Neurosurgery – a surgical discipline which deals with treating central and peripheral nervous system and spine disorders. It focuses on primarily brain, spinal cord and nerves. Medical specialists are called neurosurgeons
  • Orthopedics – these surgeons deal with disorders in skeletal structure. Further, fractures and disorders of the skeletal frame are undertaken. He performs therapies and suggests exercise for patients which are conducted by Physiotherapists
  • Ophthalmologists – they deal with human eye and its disorders. They are trained with surgeries of eyes, operation of cataract, glaucoma and other ailments
  • Psychiatry – he deals with psychiatry and other issues related to mind such as mental, emotional or behavioral disorders
  • Medicine – MBBS doctor who gains specializes in medicine and acquires an M.D. (Doctor of Medicine) degree is called a physician. His job is to comprehend patient’s problems, clinical test results, diagnosing the illness and then prescribing the treatment
  • Pediatrics – pediatrician deals with the children’s health from stages of newborn to adolescents. He diagnoses and performs treatment of the diseases of children
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology – Obstetricians and Gynecologists diagnose and treat the female reproductive disorders. They also perform operations like caesarian, laparoscopies and hysteroscopy. Further they deal with ovarian cancer and other illnesses related to reproductive systems


Stages of Medical Courses

There are basically three courses available for the interested candidates. It is not necessary to follow the hierarchy to become a specialist as one can pursue specialization course directly after pursuing the entrance examination.


  • Undergraduate Courses
  • Postgraduate Courses
  • Super Specialty Courses


Medical Governing Bodies

In India, we have four medical apex bodies which govern the medical professional and allied services. They function under the Government of India and comprises of separately affiliated medical associations.


  • Dental Council of India (DCI)
  • Pharmacy Council of India (PCI)
  • Medical Council of India (MCI)
  • National Board of Examination (NAT Board)




B. D. S. (Bachelor of Dental Sciences)

Duration of this program is 4 years. 1 year is meant for compulsory rotating internship. Courses taught are -biochemistry, physiology, pharmacology, basic anatomy and microbiology. Candidates are exposed to dentistry and hands-on-practice in the final two semesters.

M. B. B. S. (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery)

This programs spans over duration of 5 ½ years and divided into three professional of three semesters. Each semester lasts 18 months or 1 ½ year. Last year is dedicated to compulsory rotating internship. Subjects like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, forensic medicine, microbiology, pathology, pharmacology, general medicine, surgery, ophthalmology, ENT (ear, nose, and throat), gynecology, orthopedics and preventive & social medicine are taught.

B. A. M. S. (Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery)

Duration of this course is 5 ½ years. Ayurvedic Education in India is under monitoring by the Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM), which again, is a statutory central government body.

B. U. M. S. (Bachelor of Unani Medicine & Surgery)

This course deals with undergraduate degree in Unani Medicine & Surgery. Central Council of Indian Medicine (CCIM), a statutory government body manages the Unani education in India.

B. H. M. S. (Bachelor of Homoeopathic Medicine & Surgery)

This program is of 5 ½ years duration. It includes one year compulsory internship. National Institute of Homeopathy, a statutory central government body governs the Homoeopathic education in India.

By rahul