Thu. Oct 6th, 2022

So this is it. You’re getting hitched. That alone may already seem overwhelming, but now you have to buy the ring. Cut, clarity, color and carat. What the heck do all these words mean? Before you buy a diamond, you will need to educate yourself. Here is what you need to know about the 4 C’s of diamond purchasing.

This is probably the most important and the most challenging part of the 4 C’s. The brilliance of a diamond greatly depends on how it is cut. First, you should not confuse diamond “cut” with “shape.” Shape is referred to the general outward appearance of the diamond, for example, round, pear or emerald. Cut is a reference to the diamond’s reflective qualities and not the way it is shaped. A good cut will give a diamond it’s brilliance. This is the brightness that seems to come from the very heart of the stone. The angles and finish of a diamond will determine it’s ability to handle light, which in turn leads to brilliance. The grading method used to determine the cut of a diamond are:

  • Ideal
  • Premium
  • Very good
  • Good
  • Fair and poor

Diamonds that are colorless are the most sought after because they let in the most refraction of light. (sparkle) Off white diamonds absorb light, which bring out it’s brilliance. Diamond color refers to the presence or absence of color in a white diamond. A colorless diamond is like a window. It allows more light to pass through than a colored diamond, therefore it will give off more sparkle and fire. To determine the “whiteness” or colorlessness, the Gemological Institute Of America (GIA) uses a scale from “D” to “Z” where “D” is colorless and “Z” is yellow. The scale is as follows:

  • D, E, F – Colorless (white)
  • G, H, I, J -Near colorless
  • K, L, M – Faint yellow to brown
  • N, O, P, Q, R – Very light yellow to brown
  • S, T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z – Light yellow to brown

A diamond’s clarity refers to the presence of flaws on and within the stone. There are basically 2 types of flaws, inclusions and blemishes. Inclusions are internal flaws and blemishes are surface flaws. Inclusions can include air bubbles, cracks and non-diamond minerals that are found in the diamond. Blemishes include scratches, chips and pits. Diamonds that have no or few inclusions are more valuable than those with less clarity because they are rarer. Grading for diamond clarity is viewed under 10x loupe magnification. They are as follows:

  • FL – No internal or external flaws. Extremely rare.
  • IF – Internally flawless. No internal flaws, but some surface inclusions. Very rare.
  • VVS1-VVS2 – Very very slight inclusions. Difficult to detect under 10x magnification by a trained gemologist. (two grades)
  • VS1-VS2 – Very slight inclusions. Seen only with difficulty under 10x magnification. (two grades)
  • SI1-SI2 – Slight inclusions. More easily detected under 10x magnification. (two grades)
  • I1, I2, I3 – visible under 10x magnification and to the human eye as well.

A carat is a unit of measurement. The word “carat” devrives from the carob seeds that people once used to balance scales in ancient times, and so it is the unit used to weigh a stone. One carat is the same as 200 milligrams or 0.2 grams. Surprising as it may seem, but this is the last of the 4 c’s to consider when looking to buy a diamond. Although size is the most important factor in the price of a stone, it however, does not affect the beauty.

Now that you know all about the 4 c’s, it shouldn’t be too hard to buy a diamond ring for your special someone. Diamonds are forever, so go ahead, get out there and buy her a ring that she will love forever!

Shopping for that special diamond can be both time and energy consuming. This is why many people now choose to buy diamonds online. Contrary to popular belief, it is actually safe to purchase your diamond jewelry off the internet. You can save yourself hundreds, if not thousands of dollars.

By rahul